top of page

Virginia Social Work Continuing Education Requirements
2024 Renewal

Virginia Social Work Continuing Education Requirements

2024 License Renewal Information

Renewal Deadline: June 30, 2024

  • LCSW CE Hours Required: 30 hours of CE from 07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024 with a minimum of 6 of those in ethics, standards of practice, or laws pertaining to practice in Virginia.

  • LMBSW or LBSW CE Hours Required: 15 hours of CE from 07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024 
    with a minimum of 3 of those in ethics, standards of practice, or laws pertaining to practice in Virginia.


Social Workers in Virginia renew their license on a yearly basis, but are required to complete CE hours every two years in even years. The Virginia Board of Social Work provides additional information and answers on their Renewal FAQ page and on the License Renewal CE Explanation Chart.

How many of the required renewal credits for Virginia Social Workers must be Category I vs Category II?

Category I: A minimum of 20 hours for LCSWs or 10 hours for LMBSW or LBSW social workers must be Category I Credits. Please note that Virginia social workers may obtain all of their required CE credits as Category I credits.

Category II: 10 hours for LCSWs or 5 hours for LMBSW or LBSW social workers may be Category II Credits.

What is the difference between Category I and Category II CE Credits for Virginia Social Workers?

The Virginia Board of Social Work describes Category I CE activities as: 

"Category I hours are Formally Organized Learning Activities that can be documented by an approved sponsor or organization. If the sponsoring organization does not award a participant with a dated certificate indicating the activity or course taken and the number of hours earned, the social worker is responsible for obtaining a letter on organizational letterhead verifying the hours and activity. All continuing education obtained for renewal may be Category I."

Please note that all CE courses offered by Elevate Continuing Education qualify as Category I activities for Virginia Social Workers.

The Virginia Board of Social Work describes Category II CE activities as: 

Individual Professional Activities chosen by the social worker based on assessment of his/her practice. They do not have to be sponsored by an approved organization but must be documented by the social worker in the manner prescribed by the Regulations. Examples of these self-directed activities include: attending formal staffings, publication of a professional social work-related article or chapter of a book, independent or group study including listening to audio tapes, viewing video tapes, reading, professional books or articles, etc.

What type of credits does Elevate CE offer Virginia Social Workers and are they Category I?

Elevate CE provides Category I CE Credits for Virginia Social Workers. Both Live Webinars and Recorded Webinars offered by Elevate CE are considered Category I activity for Virginia Social Workers.

Elevate CE is an approved provider through the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) and the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC), both of which are listed on the Virginia Social Work Board's list of Approved Providers for Category I activities.

Virginia Social Work CE Requirement Statutes

The following information has been retrieved directly from the Virginia Board of Social Work: Continued competency requirements for renewal of an active license. A. Licensed clinical social workers shall be required to have completed a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing education. LBSWs and LMSWs shall be required to have completed a minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing education prior to licensure renewal in even years. Courses or activities shall be directly related to the practice of social work or another behavioral health field. A minimum of six of those hours for licensed clinical social workers and a minimum of three of those hours for licensed social workers must pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia. Up to two continuing education hours required for renewal may be satisfied through delivery of social work services, without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving health services through a local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of those services, as verified by the department or clinic. Three hours of volunteer service is required for one hour of continuing education credit. 1. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion of continuing education requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing education requirement. 2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing education requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters upon written request from the licensee prior to the renewal date. B. Hours may be obtained from a combination of board-approved activities in the following two categories: 1. Category I. Formally Organized Learning Activities. A minimum of 20 hours for licensed clinical social workers or 10 hours for licensed social workers shall be documented in this category, which shall include one or more of the following: a. Regionally accredited university or college academic courses in a behavioral health discipline. A maximum of 15 hours will be accepted for each academic course. b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field offered by federal, state or local social service agencies, public school systems, or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. d. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by one of the following: (1) The Child Welfare League of America and its state and local affiliates. (2) The National Association of Social Workers and its state and local affiliates. (3) The National Association of Black Social Workers and its state and local affiliates. (4) The Family Service Association of America and its state and local affiliates. (5) The Clinical Social Work Association and its state and local affiliates. (6) The Association of Social Work Boards. (7) Any state social work board. 2. Category II. Individual Professional Activities. A maximum of 10 of the required 30 hours for licensed clinical social workers or a maximum of five of the required 15 hours for licensed social workers may be earned in this category, which shall include one or more of the following: a. Participation in an Association of Social Work Boards item writing workshop. (Activity will count for a maximum of two hours.) b. Publication of a professional social work-related book or initial preparation or presentation of a social work-related course. (Activity will count for a maximum of 10 hours.) c. Publication of a professional social work-related article or chapter of a book, or initial preparation or presentation of a social work-related in-service training, seminar, or workshop. (Activity will count for a maximum of five hours.) d. Provision of a continuing education program sponsored or approved by an organization listed under Category I. (Activity will count for a maximum of two hours and will only be accepted one time for any specific program.) e. Field instruction of graduate students in a Council on Social Work Education-accredited school. (Activity will count for a maximum of two hours.) f. Serving as an officer or committee member of one of the national professional social work associations listed under subdivision B 1 d of this section or as a member of a state social work licensing board. (Activity will count for a maximum of two hours.) g. Attendance at formal staffings at federal, state, or local social service agencies, public school systems, or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. (Activity will count for a maximum of five hours.) h. Individual or group study including listening to audio tapes, viewing video tapes, or reading professional books or articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of five hours.) Statutory Authority §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3708 of the Code of Virginia.

Please note that Elevate Continuing Education is a continuing education provider and is in no way affiliated with the Virginia Board of Social Work. The above guidelines have been obtained directly from the Virginia Board of Social Work website and may be subject to change by the Virginia Board of Social Work. For questions about CE requirements, please visit the Virginia Board of Social Work Website or contact the board directly at socialwork@dhp.virginia.gov or call (804) 367-4441. 

Social Work CE Courses for Virginia Renewal

Live Webinar CE Training: 

This live webinar Trauma Certification training will take place on June 6 & 7, 2024 online via Zoom. Social workers will earn 12.0 ASWB CE credits - accepted for Category I Virginia CE Credit - and the course includes your first year of trauma certification for FREE.

No product

Join our email list and get 10% off ANY live webinar or recorded webinar plus access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

Get 10% Off!

Recorded CE Webinars
Need credits now? Start earning your credits right away - our Recorded Webinars are accepted for Category I CE Credit for Virginia Social Workers!

Ethics Course Bundle

$99 for 6.0 Ethics CE Credits. 

Ethics Course Bundle.png
FREE
ASWB CE Credits:

Foundations of Trauma-Informed Therapy Practices

1.0
$59
ASWB CE Credits:

Where's the Line? Navigating Ethics of Dual Relationships...

3.0 Ethics
$59
ASWB CE Credits:

Unmasking Gaslighting: Insight, Healing, and Client Empowerment

3.0
$65
ASWB CE Credits:

Understanding and Diagnosing Common Sleep Disorders

3.25
$59
ASWB CE Credits:

Digital Dilemmas: Ethical Use of Technology in Mental Health

3.0 Ethics
$59
ASWB CE Credits:

Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) Tools & Techniques...

3.0
$59
ASWB CE Credits:

Clinical Psychopharmacology Made Ridiculously Simple...

3.0
$49
ASWB CE Credits:

Dissociation in Trauma Treatment: Tools, Techniques...

2.5
$59
ASWB CE Credits:

Trauma-Informed Supervision (TIS):
A Healing-Centered...

3.0
$149
ASWB CE Credits:

Grief Informed Professional Certification: Helping Clients Navigate Grief...

6.0
$49
ASWB CE Credits:

Enhancing Clinical Practice with Positive Psychology

2.5
$45
ASWB CE Credits:

A Mental Health Professional's Guide to LGBTQ...

2.0

Recorded Webinars Reinvented

Flexible Self-Paced Trainings

Courses are broken into chapters and lessons and allow you to pause and save your progress as you go. 

Easy-to-use Technology

Our easy to use Learning Management System will show you your progress as you go with checkmarks and your percentage of completion. 

CEs Accepted in 48+ States

We are approved as a CE Provider through ASWB & NBCC. Use our CE Credit Checker to ensure your state accepts our CEs.

Course Workbook Included

A comprehensive workbook accompanies each course. The workbook serves as an invaluable companion, offering a structured framework to follow along and take notes.

bottom of page